Posts Tagged ‘Spam’

Godaddy: Message from Customer Service – Phishing Scam

Posted in GoDaddy, Scams on April 10th, 2009 by Michael – 10 Comments

GoDaddy
A new GoDaddy phishing scheme is spreading quickly now, I personally received 4 identical emails from them just an hour ago. Many other domainers reported receiving these, some 5-7 at a time. The email, which appears to come from support@godaddy.com but it points to: http://205.234.236.23/~ytrindic/ It’s a server in Pakistan mzwebhost.com

Domain Registration Confirmation

Dear Customer,

This notification is generated automatically as a service to you.

Because of unusual number of invalid login attempts on you account, we had to believe that, their might be some security problem on you account. So we have decided to put an extra verification process to ensure your identity and your account security.
Please click on sign in to domain servers to continue to the verification process and ensure your account security. It is all about your security. Thank you. and visit the customer service section.

please contact us within 1 days.

If you need to address this matter, or in any way need further assistance or technical support, call us any time at (480) 505-8877 or email us at support@godaddy.com. We appreciate your business!

Sincerely,
GoDaddy.com DomainAlert team

The emails also have the “regular” legal addition which makes them look rather authentic:

*Free hosting, photo album and blog services are ad-supported. Ad-supported Web sites contain
relevant online advertising on a small portion of the site, but DO NOT include obtrusive pop-up ads.
**Not applicable to premium domains, bulk domain purchases, discounted domain products, Sunrise/Landrush domain registrations, .ME domain registrations, discounted memberships or maintenance plans; additional disk space and bandwidth renewals, custom page layouts, custom headers, posters or gift cards. Discount reflected in your shopping cart – cannot be used in conjunction with any other offer or promotion.

Copyright © 2009 GoDaddy.com, Inc.. All rights reserved.

In general these emails look pretty good, much better than the regular scams, where after seeing the “dear sir/madam” you can figure it’s a scam right away. This email even had a smaller frame with a 10% off code and a few real links to GoDaddy.com

Take 10%** off your next order at GoDaddy.com.
Simply enter gdbb366 in your shopping cart or mention the offer code when you call (480) 505-8877.

The question remains however will these guys ever learn to spell and actually write in decent English? However many people don’t read email and just check the title, open it and click the link if it looks authentic.

Last, but not least – be sure to mouse over all links in email before clicking them!

Share

Domain Name Purchase Proposal

Posted in Spam on March 18th, 2009 by Michael – 11 Comments

Here is one the most elaborate bulk lowball offers I’ve received.
I want my 5 minutes spent on reading it (till i got to the $50 offer) back!
The offer was for the domain RockyHill.com and came from adams.jennifer@gmx.com – which appears to be another free email account.

Dear Sir/Madam,

I am contacting you on behalf of a small web development firm with which I work.

We have just recently instigated a development plan whereby we are slowly but surely building a large network of simple, information based websites.
The intention is to create a Wikipedia style encyclopaedia of information. The difference is however that rather than be located on one central domain, we intend to develop these sites on individual, keyword rich domains.
Our aim is to create a network such that if you want information on ‘Childrens Birthdays’ for example, then you can simply type in childrensbirthdays.com and find all the information you need.
At the moment search engines like Google provide an unnecessary middle man. We aim to make finding what you want even simpler than it already is!

We are contacting you with regards to the domain name RockyHill.com. Having completed a check of the whois database we obtained your details as being the owner/administrator of said domain name.
We are interested in purchasing this domain name from you as it is an ideal domain name for our development.

We would be prepared to offer you 50 USD for your domain name. If this is acceptable, please do let us know and we will provide information on how we may proceed.
We do not consider ourselves naive or unknowledgeable, and appreciate that some domains are being used for other things than websites: email for example, and again we appreciate that you may simply not want to sell your domain.
If this is the case we ask that you let us know such that we can pursue alternative domains.

Independent of your decision, I thank you for your time and wish you all the best.
Thanks

Jennifer

The “Dear Sir/Madam,” usually makes it all clear from the beginning, but in this one somehow it seemed like it might be a real offer. From the whois it appears that childrensbirthdays.com belongs to Rolnick, Danny from GB. But there is no way of knowing if this is the sender of the email, or they just picked a random good looking domain for an example.

All the US city domain owners have been emailed to so many times that I doubt there is any chance to buy a domain this way nowdays. The times when you could get a great bargain by emailing the owner are mainly gone and this is obviously an automated bulk email so it didn’t even deserve a reply, he can’t be seriously offering $50 for a top GEO domain like that.

After some checking I’ve found that apparently these guys emailed quite a few domainers. Some even say they only got a $10 offer, so I guess I should be happy :D

Share

Bulk LLLL.com Email Spam

Posted in LLLL.com, Spam on May 31st, 2008 by Michael – 4 Comments

I got about 8-10 emails from this person for different domains over the last couple months. I replied to a few asking to stop bothering me because I dont sell my domains cheap, but it clearly didn’t help.

I noticed that you are the owner of pirh.com. I am currently looking to buy these type of domains and am willing to offer you $200 US if you wish to sell. I can provide an instant, hassle free payment through PayPal.

If you have any questions or wish to proceed with this sale please feel free to contact me at any time.

Best regards
David Williams
PO Box 481
Goodna Qld 4300
AUSTRALIA
Ph: +617 3294 6889
Fax: +617 3036 6406
Email/MSN ID: david@rhev.com

read more »

Share