Posts Tagged ‘GEO’

Domain Name Purchase Proposal

Posted in Spam on March 18th, 2009 by Michael – 11 Comments

Here is one the most elaborate bulk lowball offers I’ve received.
I want my 5 minutes spent on reading it (till i got to the $50 offer) back!
The offer was for the domain RockyHill.com and came from adams.jennifer@gmx.com – which appears to be another free email account.

Dear Sir/Madam,

I am contacting you on behalf of a small web development firm with which I work.

We have just recently instigated a development plan whereby we are slowly but surely building a large network of simple, information based websites.
The intention is to create a Wikipedia style encyclopaedia of information. The difference is however that rather than be located on one central domain, we intend to develop these sites on individual, keyword rich domains.
Our aim is to create a network such that if you want information on ‘Childrens Birthdays’ for example, then you can simply type in childrensbirthdays.com and find all the information you need.
At the moment search engines like Google provide an unnecessary middle man. We aim to make finding what you want even simpler than it already is!

We are contacting you with regards to the domain name RockyHill.com. Having completed a check of the whois database we obtained your details as being the owner/administrator of said domain name.
We are interested in purchasing this domain name from you as it is an ideal domain name for our development.

We would be prepared to offer you 50 USD for your domain name. If this is acceptable, please do let us know and we will provide information on how we may proceed.
We do not consider ourselves naive or unknowledgeable, and appreciate that some domains are being used for other things than websites: email for example, and again we appreciate that you may simply not want to sell your domain.
If this is the case we ask that you let us know such that we can pursue alternative domains.

Independent of your decision, I thank you for your time and wish you all the best.
Thanks

Jennifer

The “Dear Sir/Madam,” usually makes it all clear from the beginning, but in this one somehow it seemed like it might be a real offer. From the whois it appears that childrensbirthdays.com belongs to Rolnick, Danny from GB. But there is no way of knowing if this is the sender of the email, or they just picked a random good looking domain for an example.

All the US city domain owners have been emailed to so many times that I doubt there is any chance to buy a domain this way nowdays. The times when you could get a great bargain by emailing the owner are mainly gone and this is obviously an automated bulk email so it didn’t even deserve a reply, he can’t be seriously offering $50 for a top GEO domain like that.

After some checking I’ve found that apparently these guys emailed quite a few domainers. Some even say they only got a $10 offer, so I guess I should be happy :D

Share