Spam

Domain Name Purchase Proposal

Posted in Spam on March 18th, 2009 by Michael – 11 Comments

Here is one the most elaborate bulk lowball offers I’ve received.
I want my 5 minutes spent on reading it (till i got to the $50 offer) back!
The offer was for the domain RockyHill.com and came from adams.jennifer@gmx.com - which appears to be another free email account.

Dear Sir/Madam,

I am contacting you on behalf of a small web development firm with which I work.

We have just recently instigated a development plan whereby we are slowly but surely building a large network of simple, information based websites.
The intention is to create a Wikipedia style encyclopaedia of information. The difference is however that rather than be located on one central domain, we intend to develop these sites on individual, keyword rich domains.
Our aim is to create a network such that if you want information on ‘Childrens Birthdays’ for example, then you can simply type in childrensbirthdays.com and find all the information you need.
At the moment search engines like Google provide an unnecessary middle man. We aim to make finding what you want even simpler than it already is!

We are contacting you with regards to the domain name RockyHill.com. Having completed a check of the whois database we obtained your details as being the owner/administrator of said domain name.
We are interested in purchasing this domain name from you as it is an ideal domain name for our development.

We would be prepared to offer you 50 USD for your domain name. If this is acceptable, please do let us know and we will provide information on how we may proceed.
We do not consider ourselves naive or unknowledgeable, and appreciate that some domains are being used for other things than websites: email for example, and again we appreciate that you may simply not want to sell your domain.
If this is the case we ask that you let us know such that we can pursue alternative domains.

Independent of your decision, I thank you for your time and wish you all the best.
Thanks

Jennifer

The “Dear Sir/Madam,” usually makes it all clear from the beginning, but in this one somehow it seemed like it might be a real offer. From the whois it appears that childrensbirthdays.com belongs to Rolnick, Danny from GB. But there is no way of knowing if this is the sender of the email, or they just picked a random good looking domain for an example.

All the US city domain owners have been emailed to so many times that I doubt there is any chance to buy a domain this way nowdays. The times when you could get a great bargain by emailing the owner are mainly gone and this is obviously an automated bulk email so it didn’t even deserve a reply, he can’t be seriously offering $50 for a top GEO domain like that.

After some checking I’ve found that apparently these guys emailed quite a few domainers. Some even say they only got a $10 offer, so I guess I should be happy :D

Another Appraisal Scam

Posted in Scams, Security, Spam on March 17th, 2009 by Michael – 3 Comments

Got another one of those appraisal scam emails today. Luckily they land in spam folder now:

Peter Miller Tue, Mar 17, 2009 at 6:31 AM
To: domainadmin
Dear sir,

we are interested to buy your domain name AARR.COM and offer to buy it from you for 65% of the appraised market value.

As of now we accept appraisals from either one of the following leading appraisal companies:

sedo.com
pedma.com
accuratedomains.com

If you already have an appraisal please forward it to us.

As soon as we have received your appraisal we will send you our payment (we use Paypal for amounts less than $2,000 and escrow.com for amounts above $2,000) as well as further instructions on how to complete the transfer of the domain name.

We appreciate your business,

Thanks,
P. Miller

New Type Of Spam: Partnership Proposal

Posted in SEO, Scams, Spam on July 31st, 2008 by Michael – 9 Comments

I’ve been getting these emails by the dozens lately. A new spam/scam type is out: partnership proposal emails. I’m still not sure what they want as they never seem to answer when you reply back, but here are some of the emails:

Hello,

I just came across your website - wcasinos.net and I want to ask if I can sponsor a text link on your website.

Please e-mail me back and I will send you additional information.

Best Regards,
Todd McGregor
Advertising Consultant
Business Development Department

If you do not respond to this email you will not receive any additional emails from us. To permanently delete yourself from our list, simply reply to this with a blank email and you will not receive any communication from us in the future.

—————————————————————-

read more »

Possible New Scam - Phone Number

Posted in Scams, Spam on June 5th, 2008 by Michael – 8 Comments

I got like 5 messages for my various sites asking for phone number with interest to purchase the website. However the emails looked unprofessional so it’s quite clear this is not a real inquiry.

Update: I got many reports from others who received same messages and I could only speculate but they never reply, so I’m thinking they are just collecting phone numbers and sites. What for? Maybe to offer some hosting or other products, or spam you with some related offers. Maybe for some sophisticated scamming attempts..

There is a dnf thread about this. Anyone knows what they want?

Business Proposal

Thursday, June 5, 2008 5:29 PM

 

 

From:

read more »

Bulk LLLL.com Email Spam

Posted in LLLL.com, Spam on May 31st, 2008 by Michael – 4 Comments

I got about 8-10 emails from this person for different domains over the last couple months. I replied to a few asking to stop bothering me because I dont sell my domains cheap, but it clearly didn’t help.

I noticed that you are the owner of pirh.com. I am currently looking to buy these type of domains and am willing to offer you $200 US if you wish to sell. I can provide an instant, hassle free payment through PayPal.

If you have any questions or wish to proceed with this sale please feel free to contact me at any time.

Best regards
David Williams
PO Box 481
Goodna Qld 4300
AUSTRALIA
Ph: +617 3294 6889
Fax: +617 3036 6406
Email/MSN ID: david@rhev.com

read more »