Archive for the ‘Legal’ Category

Anti-Anti-Cybersquatting Patent

Wednesday, May 14th, 2008

DomainNameWire reports about a very interesting patent filled by Frank Schilling with the help of domain attorney John Berryhill:

 On April 24, 2006, domain name portfolio owner Frank Schilling filed a patent application for “Generic top-level domain re-routing system” with the help of attorney John Berryhill. This patent, if granted, could end up being very important to the domain name industry.

Patent application 20060265516 describes a system for redirecting typos of domain names, such as a typo of the .com portion or the actual name:

…Because mis-typed TLDs in Internet domain names will not resolve to a valid address, valuable web site visitors and e-mail (more…)

LH.com Case

Monday, April 28th, 2008

Interesting case and decision and not in a good way..

http://domains.adrforum.com/domains/decisions/1153492.htm

PARTIES

Complainant is Deutsche Lufthansa AG (“Complainant”), represented by Dennis J. Mondolino of McDermott Will & Emery LLP, of New York, USA. Respondent is Future Media Architects, Inc. (“Respondent”), represented by James E. Rosini of Kenyon & Kenyon LLP of New York, USA.

REGISTRAR AND DISPUTED DOMAIN NAME

The domain name at issue is <lh.com>, registered with Moniker Online Services, Inc. (more…)

Many LLLL.com Possibly Stolen: EGF.com, Sibe.com, gmeil.com, elli.com, gtoy.com and more..

Friday, April 18th, 2008

It was reported today on DNF that a large amount of quality LLLL.com domains were stolen, among them egf.com, neoo.com, elli.com, gtoy.com, lave.com, sibe.com, ftc.net, 3004.COM GEHO.COM, gmile.com, mopi.com:

The domains as shown below were transferred illegaly on 13,14,15 April,2008 by unknown domain hacker.
The original legal owner is Goi Media(Heongho Kim),he reported all suspected fraud to the cybercrime police and consulted a lawyer about the case.

Currently,the cybercrime police investigate this case seriously.
The owner submitted the domain list to the police,and opened to the public to prevent the hacker from reselling them.

Therefore,the legal owner warned anyo (more…)

ICQ.ca in Pool.com - Can a TM Violation Be More Obvious?

Friday, March 28th, 2008

ICQ.ca in now at auction in Pool.com with current high offer $2302 and over 3 days to go.

Now obviously this LLL.ca domain is only that valuable due to the popular IM program with the same name. So it’s very likely that icq.ca has some very good type in traffic that can let the owner make the money back in just a few months.

But the problem is ICQ is a trademark, which now belongs to AOL. Even if the domain icq.ca will be used for something unrelated to the icq brand AOL can claim it and most likely receive the domain. (more…)